#reflection on pre-lecture resources

Getting ready for next semester and decided to research pre-lecture quizzes similar to the “do I know this already” quiz in some of the Cisco books by Wendell Odom. I was thinking of doing this because I found it helpful when I was revising and tried to see how I could incorporate it into my lectures.Lo and behold I did a quick search on Google and the first result was http://arrow.dit.ie/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1040&context=scschcpsart entitled

“The implementation of Pre-Lecture Resources to
Reduce In-Class Cognitive Load: A Case Study for
Higher Education Chemistry”

Written by Michael Seery and Roisin Donnelly from DIT where I am studying, so I might have access to the people who wrote on exactly the same thing. Having read it I’ll have a look at which of my lectures are suitable in their current format for this approach and try to identify an assessment which I can use for measurement of the effect.

Leave a Reply

