#reflection on Student Partnerships

What did I learn today today? Read a good paper on students as partners here https://www.heacademy.ac.uk/engagement-through-partnership-students-partners-learning-and-teaching-higher-education
How was it useful? It made me think more about involving students in creating assessments and in creating marking schemes.
What feelings came up during the session? I felt very uncomfortable about letting students have some control over my teaching but the more I thought about it and read on it the more I realised it is letting them have some control over their learning.
What did you learn? There is an unwritten learning contract between student and teacher, and we can renegotiate the terms so that everybody benefits more.
What will you do with the information i.e. what next? If I’m going to try this out, I’m going to start with the third years as I feel they are the best to work with. They can appreciate value of the partnership and are more likely to be mature about it.

Leave a Reply

