#reflection on e-Portfolios

What did I think about today? Updating my e-portfolio and I found that for me the hardest part is organising the site, it’s like trying to organise one’s thoughts. How was it useful? This could be a very useful exercise, if I can recognise how I organise my thoughts then it will not only help wth my site structure, but also with my personal learning. it’s a win-win!! What thoughts came up? Read a paper by Muireann O’Keefe from DIT at http://arrow.dit.ie/libart/9 on supporting students creation of e-portfolios on the course that I am doing! the paper talks about using the e-portfolio for reflection and as an opportunity for creativity among other things and it occurred to me that these are aspects that are very unique to each learner What did you learn? That my e-portfolio does not have to be like anyone else’s that it is OK to borrow formats or concepts or techniques, so long as they make sense to me, and I can fit them into my way of organising information. What will you do with the information i.e. what next? Continue to develop my e-portfolio, I donwloaded an offline copy to compare to the next “version” I am working on and hope to keep track of the way it changes over time. References OKeeffe, Muireann, “Exploring Supports Provided for Student ePortfolio Development in a Professional Development Context” (2012). Articles. Paper 9. http://arrow.dit.ie/libart/9

Leave a Reply

