#reflection on group assessments

What did I reflect on today? That assessing groups, especially large groups of groups manager-308474_960_720needs to be “straegically” managed. I was reading a blog post by Fiona Saunders here http://fionasaunders.co.uk/reflections-on-large-class-teaching/ and it got me thinking about the assessments I currently use for students

How was it useful? I liked her mantra of “meaningful”, “equitable”, and “manageable”, I think from now on I will put those three words at the top of every assessment I am writing to help me compose something that is appropriate to the course I am teaching (meaningful), fair to the students (equitable), and does not overload me with work to correct and feedback quickly (manageable)

Any other thoughts? The same mantra could be applied to other aspects of my teaching such as lecture preparation, but I am going to start with assessments first and then possibly expand its use.

What did you learn? That lots of Lecturers face the same challenges as me, and the “Equitable” aspect is something I feel is important, after all, it’s about the students not the teacher.

What will you do with the information i.e. what next? I have amended the template that I use for all assignment instructions to include the Three Little Words, as I write each one going forward I’ll take a few minutes to consider if I have met my own criteria, I’ll keep refining assessments as I know perfection will never be achieved which is good because where’s the fun in that??

Leave a Reply

