#reflection on class sizes

What did I reflect on today? Whether or not I can give the same level of teaching to large groups that I provide for small groups. I was comparing exams given to large classes with those given to smaller groups and there was a slight disparity in the level of questions.
How was it useful? Made me think am I making it too easy for the large group or too hard for the small one?
What thoughts came up ? Need to ensure no bias or imbalance in assessment
What did I learn? The learning objectives are the key to assessment, other factors must be secondary to them, not what the idealist educator wants to see but it’s a reality we all must face
What will I do with the information i.e. what next? Re-visit old assessments for an “audit” and examine ways going forward to use technology so that assessments can “scale” up

Leave a Reply

